Singer/Songwriter Emily Jane White released a new music video for ‘Washed Away’

346 Views 0 Comment

The latest cut of compellingly dark, twisted folk to emerge from her upcoming sixth album ‘Immanent Fire’ is accompanied by a new video filmed by Kristin Cofer and edited by Amber Beaton.

In music and visuals, the ‘Washed Away’ video sees Emily Jane White sending a clear and timely message about caring for our fragile environment.

Speaking about the new track Emily says:

“‘Washed Away’ is about how we are severed from our natural world, how pervasive communication through technology dominates so much of our lives. This song speaks to the creative importance of spending time in nature and how it must be seen and valued.

It’s a relationship. I feel this disconnect is directly linked to the climate crisis and ongoing destruction of the planet.”

Emily Jane White releases her new album ‘Immanent Fire’ on 15th November 2019, Via Talitres. Written over a two year period, her sixth album recognizes our moment at the precipice of species annihilation, as she guides her listener through the feeling of life on a planet at the brink of destruction.

Acknowledging these conditions in which we live, White offers what she has been best suited to on all of her albums: an exploration of the internal world. What is the feeling of life in the capital scene? Here, White offers a compassionate but also raw exposure of the anxiety, addiction, and depression that have become normative. At the same time, she produces an alternative path: the revaluation of the feminine, the receptive, the vulnerable, the emotional. A turn toward the center, the appreciation and experience of life itself—a practice which has, in our moment of ubiquitous despair, become a form of resistance.

The ten songs present a deepening storm of melody that offers the hopeful ray of Emily’s voice as the waves of rhythm crash and dance around her. Just before—or perhaps after—the despair seems to overwhelm, her vocals open up and bloom like a lens flare, creating an ecstatically painful emotional brilliance that the listener clings onto with pleasure. Her voice is the listener’s guide, a steady and reassuring presence as they march through eerie landscapes, caverns of reverb, church organs and synthetic arpeggios. The occasional samples of birds, insects, and thunder mix with the blend of electronic and acoustic instruments, a subtle reminder of the necessary link between the fate of our ecology and the moral use of technology.

White’s new album juxtaposes a heavy melancholy with an intimate touching lightness through her singular alto voice backed by orchestral percussion, soaring strings, heavy guitars, a choir of voices, and an overall cinematic presentation of dynamic songwriting.

The album is co-produced by Anton Patzner and Emily Jane White. All of the songs were written by Emily Jane White. Anton Patzner wrote accompanying arrangements and engineered the recording in Emeryville California.

Album Tracklist
1. Surrender
2. Drowned
3. Infernal
4. Washed Away
5. Metamorphosis
6. Dew
7. Shroud
8. Entity
9. Light
10. The Gates at the End

Follow Emily Jane White Online

Spotify | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube